New York Alcohol Certification Tips
Looking to get a job in the service or bartending industry? Are you a business owner who wants to protect themselves and their workers? Here are some helpful tips for alcohol certification in the state of New York.
Tips for Training Business Owners
While alcohol training is not currently state-mandated, many businesses can protect themselves from liability by making sure employees are fully trained in the laws and regulations surrounding the sale of alcohol. Penalties for business owners charged with selling or serving alcohol to minors can be up to $5,000 in fines or a revocation of the business' liquor license. Businesses can also be liable if a minor leaves their establishment after consuming alcohol and causes property damage, injury or death. ATAP Certification can be considered a mitigating factor in cases of regulatory violation and can prove that employers took steps to train employees in the responsible selling or serving of alcohol. As a mitigating factor, ATAP training can lessen charges or sentencing in the case of a violation.
Alcohol Training can also keep employees and the business safer by teaching them how to prevent alcohol-related disturbances and how to handle them if they happen. For the best outcome, make sure all employees who come into contact with alcohol or any patrons consuming alcohol are ATAP certified.
Tips for Training Servers & Bartenders
Servers and bartenders are at risk serving alcohol if they are not properly trained in the laws and responsibilities of vendors in New York. Bartenders or servers can face jail time (up to one year) and fines (up to $1,000) if they are convicted of providing alcohol to minors, known habitual alcoholics or visibly intoxicated patrons. It is incredibly important for bartenders and servers to understand how to recognize intoxication, how to quickly calculate potential blood-alcohol content and how to responsibly and safely intervene or refuse sale. Proper training from an SLA-Approved ATAP course can help keep bartenders and servers safe while serving alcohol.
Most servers and bartenders will need to take an on-premise ATAP certification course, since the alcoholic beverages being served will be consumed on the premises of the restaurant or bar. If the facility is a brewpub or winery that also sells products directly to the consumer for consumption at home, the bartenders or servers might want to take both on-premise and off-premise training.
Tips for Training Cashiers
The most important alcohol tips for cashiers involve avoiding alcohol sales to minors. Store cashiers or clerks charged with providing alcohol to minors, to known habitual drunkards or to visibly intoxicated persons can be sentenced up to one year in jail with a $1,000 fine. Alcohol Training from a New York SLA-Approved ATAP course can help cashiers prepare themselves to identify fake IDs, recognize minors or second-party purchase attempts, identify intoxication or habitual alcoholic behaviors and overall be ready for situations that could result in a potential alcohol standards violation.
Who Should Take an ATAP Course?
Any employee who sells, serves, dispenses or delivers alcoholic beverages can benefit from the Alcohol Training Awareness Program, including waiters and servers, bartenders and bar backs, cashiers and store owners.
Employers requiring ATAP training for their employees can save money with bulk rate and corporate discounts!» Bulk Discounts